Saturday, March 31, 2012

Eraselet Review and Giveaway Sponsored by Mom Goes Wild

MomGoesWild & her family, love Eraselet! 


Eraselet, The Bracelet That Eraces!!!
Eraselet

Eraselets are awesome! Everyone in our social network including ourselves and our kids think that these are such an amazing invention. Eraselets are the new must have accessory. Not only are they super for kids - adults can wear/use these too. Our kids change their colour to match their outfit (or not) and I have my "wild" Eraselet on at all times (Kim, the owner,  sent me a special Eraselet to represent my "wild" side - A tiger--Thanks Kim--I will treasu)

What is an Eraselet, you ask? Well, it's a bracelet that erases. They are convenient, fun, and practical. They come in various colours, and styles. They work very well, just as well as any other eraser I've used. So now, why would I go and buy an eraser I have to look for? I wouldn't, because I have an Eraselet.


The Eraselet was invented by Bryan Ricci after his 3 daughters kept loosing their erasers. Eraselets are a fun, fashionable and functional school supply that give kids a new way to keep up with their erasers. Eraselets are made in the USA and give 10% of their net proceeds to Erase World Hunger, a non-profit started by Brian & Kimberly Ricci to help feed orphans around the world.

Eraselet Fun Facts
  • They are made in the United States
  • Eraselets can be custom made (would make a great item for fundraisers, business promo's, and even birthday party treats)
  • Free Shipping - That itself is amazing - Everyone loves free shipping
  • 10% of Eraselets net profits go to help Erace World Hunger
  • You can find Eraselets various Dollar General Market Stores for only $1
  • Lifeway Christian Stores carry Scripture Eraselets in packs of 6


For about two weeks now, every time one of the kids got on the computer - this is what we heard! Check out this awesome video by Naner Bananer, the company comedian, all about Eraselets. So cute! You're kids will love it and you will too!


Naner Bananer is on Facebook! Add her as a friend, you won't regret it! She keeps everyone up to speed on what's going on at Eraselet HQ!

You can also "Like" Eraselet on Facebook - to be even more on top of the wonderful work this company does!

Let's help this awesome company Get On The Shelf at Walmart - Vote for them HERE

Please take the time to visit Erase World Hunger and see what these good people are doing for the world. I truly appreciate that they are doing this, and I am sure you will too!

Check out some awesome interviews with the Ricci's: 



Living Best Life Interview with the Ricci's - This is a heart warming story, hearing from the whole family. Bryan tells his story and how he wound up homeless at the age of 15.

News Channel 5 talks to Bryan at about how hope could help erase homelessness.

These are truly amazing people. They are mentors, and absolutely inspiring. I wish them nothing but the best in the years to come. I am truly blessed to have had the opportunity to work with such a wonderful family. 



Can't wait to stock up on your own Eraselets for your kids, fundraisers, or parties? Visit the Eraselet website and get your order in today! They start at only $1 each with a minimum order of 3 Eraselets and FREE shipping.


The beautiful Ricci Family - The creators of Eraselet

MomGoesWild would like to thank my bloggy friends for helping me promote this review and giveaway. Take some time and show them some <3

Mommy and Baby Reviews and Giveaways

Crafty Kate Going Crazy

Kathleen's BlogSpot

OnlyGreen - Michelle Smith

From Dominique Desk

Freebies with Attitude

Good Steward Savers

The Dapper School House

Free Social 2011

Mom Blog Society

Route 249

Jackies Reviews

Bodhi's Mews

Classic Children's Books

Coupon Free Stuff


(I received the products mentioned above for free from Eraselet to use to write my review of this product. I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers)

Would you like to win your own retail package of Eraselets? Thanks to Kim & Bryan Ricci, the owners of Eraselet, we are giving away one retail package of your choice.  Enter on the Rafflecopter below!  Good luck!!!



Friday, March 30, 2012

$50.00 Bath and Body Works Gift Cards TWO winners!!!

Two Lucky Winners will receive $50 Bath and Body Works Gift Cards!

Sponsored by Mom Does Reviews, Mom Blog Society, Mommy Moments with Abby, Route 249 and Jackie's Reviews

 

Bath & Body Works makes fragrance fun with exclusive Signature Collection scents, the world’s best Home Fragrances, Anti-Bacterial Hand Soaps and Sanitizers, perfect gifts and so much more! Imagine what you could buy with $50!

We have joined up with a fabulous group of bloggers to bring you this Sweet Giveaway:
Giveaway is open to US residents only. Giveaway ends 4/14 1201am Good luck and have fun!

Kids Are Amazing FLASH Giveaway


Kids are amazing! I honestly believe that the best thing that ever happened to me was becoming a mom. Everyday they do or say something that either keeps me on my toes or makes me laugh uncontrollably. From the funny things they say and do to those funny little personalities. I am truly blessed to have my little comedians. This is Cheyenne and her audition to be the next KISS member!
Today we are going to give something away for the kids. All kids love getting mail, even if its just the weekly flyer from the supermarket. Well we want them to get super excited about getting something special just for them! We will even personally address it to them! Enter from March 30 - April 2, 2012!
Thank you to Africa's Blog, Kathleen's Blog Spot and Mommy and Baby Reviews and Giveaways for Sponsoring the giveaway. And a huge thank you to all of the blogs hosting the giveaway.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Hump Day Flash PayPal Giveaway for March 28,2012


Who wants to win some cash? I know silly question right! Well we are ready to give away $15.00 PayPal cash to one winner in our Hump Day Flash PayPal Giveaway!
So what are you waiting for? Get entering you only have until Midnight EST tonight to enter!

My Child is NOT ADHD- Tips for Parenting a Child with ADHD

My Child is NOT ADHD- Tips for Parenting a Child with ADHD
Guest Post by Kate May-Knapp from Crafty Kate Going Crazy


My son is a lot of things: curious, musical, funny, a great reader, in many ways a typical 6 year old, and while he may have ADHD he is NOT his ADHD!  I have to remind myself of this many, many times a day.  There is no doubt that parenting a child with ADHD is a challenge, it affects his day (and mine) from the time he wakes up until he goes to bed.
So where do we start?  I guess at the beginning, how do you know if your child might have ADHD?  If your child is under the age of 4 you really don’t.  Many of the indicators of ADHD can be typical behaviors in younger children, so while you may suspect this, if you find anyone who wants to diagnose your child of having ADD or ADHD before the age of 4 grab your child and run the other way!  Medicating a child for ADD or ADHD before the age of 4 simply is not appropriate.
Let me share with you just a few of the symptoms my son showed that clued me in to the potential of having ADHD.  The inability to focus on activities he enjoys for more than just 5 minutes or so (while this is typical in a 2 or 3 year old most 4 year olds having a longer attention span).   A louder than normal speaking voice, no matter how often I reminded him to use a softer voice it often felt like he was “yelling” everything (a hearing test showed this was not due to a hearing problem).  Consistently impulsive behavior, my son would repeatedly do things that he knew was not allowed and would get him in trouble and no matter how often he was punished for his behaviors he continued to do them and he didn’t really know why.  If you suspect your child may have ADD or ADHD your medical professional, school, or several websites can provide you with excellent checklists of symptoms you may see in your child.
Once you have a diagnosis it is of the utmost importance that you keep in frequent contact with his doctor, daycare provider, and your child’s teacher.  It can take a LONG time to find the right medicine and dosage for your child, and the right dosage can change as your child grows.  This can be an extremely frustrating process for all involved.  In less than two years we are on our 2nd medicine and 4th dosage for my son and still struggling to get it “just right”.  
What can you do besides medicine to help your child?  A child with ADHD will do best with a consistent routine.  My son has a picture and time chart to help him get ready for school in the morning.  It breaks down each thing he needs to do with a time and a picture reminder.  It is very detailed from waking up to brushing his teeth and putting on his shoes.
Discipline is a special area with ADHD children.  It is so important to separate how you feel about the child’s behavior from how you feel about the CHILD!  Provide consistent discipline and clear expectations.  My son worked with a behavior therapist that provided us with some tools to help him succeed.  Redirecting behavior can be used in most circumstances.  When Adam does something that is inappropriate I offer him two choices that are okay for me.  For example, instead of coloring on the walls with markers he can choose between sitting down and reading a story with me or playing with his trucks in his room.  Particularly useful with him is reminding him how his behaviors affect others, an example of this would be “what kind of face does you drawing on the wall give me” and he makes an angry face, and then ask “what kind of face do you want me to have” and he says happy face and then chooses an activity that is more appropriate.
Okay, so that is a lot of information and I hope it’s not overwhelming.  I guess my top tip is to know your child and always strive to do what is best for them.  People will fight you but you have to advocate for your child.  You will have those that tell it’s over diagnosed and make you feel like a bad parent, easy for them to say since they don’t live your life.  Then you may run into those who deal with your child who want you to medicate your child into a stupor so they don’t have to work as hard.  Know your child and remember that they are not their behavior, and find someone who has been in your shoes and really understands!





Iris and the Dragonflies - Review and Giveaway - MomGoesWild








MomGoesWild is in love with this book & she thinks you will be too!!










Am I back to reality yet? Whoa!!...Stephanie! Wake up!!



For a week now, I was instantly brought back to my childhood and I felt like I was the main character, in this book, Iris and the Dragonflies, written by Rosemary Danielis. I felt like I was that 11 year old girl again, back home, on a tiny island in Qu├ębec. I could see me, being Iris, sneaking down to the brook to play, and it's so ironic that our brooks were covered with a sea of the flowers, called Iris'.



When I started reading this book, my children were visiting my parents, on that very same island, where everything is so magical, serene, and where freedom is the attraction. Knowing my 9 year old son would love this book, and to hopefully open up his imagination while he was there, I asked him to read it as well. It was such an awesome opportunity for my son and I to connect, and relive the magical experience of Iris and my childhood, together.





I have so many different connections with this book.



I really don't want to reveal too much about this book, because I have already demanded that my book buddies read this astonishing masterpiece. Although, I'm not sure if any of them will be able to connect to this book as much as I have.



It's a magical story of Iris, who is connected with her Dragonfly friends but doesn't know why. She later learns that she has special connections with not only her closest human friends, but as well with the Earth. It's one of those books that I couldn't just put away and forget about for a few days. I had to read it every lunch hour, and every night at bed time. This book covers all the important aspects of life - family, friendship, loyalty, history and imagination.



That's it! I'm not spilling another word!!! I don't want to ruin it for you.



Rosemary has such a talent with words. It was so well written and very easy to understand and feel. There were times when I couldn't help but wonder if it was written for me, as some sort of sign. I related to the setting, the main character, and most interesting of all, I relate to what Iris, the Dragon Seer, was born to protect, Her, Mother Earth.



As strange as this may sound, I almost felt like my childhood came to a halt when the book ended. I really hope that Rosemary Danielis doesn't keep my inner child locked up for too long! :)



Please visit the website for Iris and the Dragonflies and check out the Facebook fan page to learn more.



How would you like to go back to your childhood for a few hours a day and see the world through Iris's eyes? Enter below, for your chance to win, one of 5 Kindle versions and one AUTOGRAPHED paperback of Iris and the Dragonflies. That's right! 6 winners!!!



Thank you to these wonderful bloggy friends for helping me promote this review & giveaway! Why not visit their blogs while you are here and see what they are up to?





Shawnies Samples And Savings                                              Giveaways And Glitter
Rockin Rebel Deals                                                                Kathleen's BlogSpot    
My PhotoPage                                                                       Crazy Crafty Kate
Nana Robertas Crafts                                                             Savvy Living
Cozie Corner                                                                          Deals Teens and MMA
Enchanted Savings                                                                   Mom Does Reviews
Coupon Savings in the South                                                    The Indian by the Sea - BeanBandz

OnlyGreen-Michelle Smith




I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Enter below - and good luck to you all!


Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Monday, March 26, 2012

Cruelty-Free Feather Hair Extensions Review and Giveaway by Emptynester Reviews and Giveaways






REVIEW

All opinions provided in my Review are completely my own. I was not coerced monetarily or in any other way to leave a false or misleading review.

 I recently reviewed hair feathers, to add into your own hair, for the company Picasso Hair Feathers. This seems to be the new rage for women, well as little girls right now, so I was excited to research how these work. I was very surprised at the selection of colors and styles available, I had no idea. I had only seen the purple, red, pink, I didn't know they came in more inconspicuous colors as well. That made me extremely happy, as I would like more serene colors if adding to my own hair. They came with a full set of instructions as well as a link to their website, which has a video on  How to apply hair feathers yourself! Yeah!! I like user friendly video's! The process was so simple, and I had mine in in a matter of a minute! They are so cute and stylish! My friends and family complimented me on the one I applied as soon as I showed them. I put it underneath about 2inches off the crown of my head. so you only can catch a glimpse if I push my hair back or if I want to show it off, I pull my hair up in a bun and tadaa, there it is!! These hair feathers are said to last 4 to 6 weeks and mine is nice and tight yet after 2weeks, I am happy to say.I am very happy to see these are Cruelty Free
Great Quality, sturdy, love the selection, price is right over all!
 Picasso Hair Feathers is the best I have seen in my search of Hair Feathers!
 I think I just may go bold with my next one and go Purple!!

I also have a link on the side of my Blog page for HAIR FEATHERS, so if anytime you would like to browse them or would like to buy, feel free to use the shortcut I created for you..:)


Product Description
Picasso hair feathers are the 1st supplier in cruelty-free hair feathers. Add color, texture and style to your hair with animal friendly feathers. You can wash, blow dry, curl and straighten (up to 180 degrees) your feathers which will last you 4 - 6 weeks!

Our feather hair extensions are also flexible and kink-free and are a great addition to any up-do or style. They are extra long feathers of about 16" which you can trim to achieve any length you wish.

Application is made easier with our pre-loop system. All you need is a set of pliers to apply these feathers; thread a piece of your natural hair through our attached ring, pull the end of the loop and squeeze tight!
An artist and hair stylist has customized each color combination to give you a guaranteed HOT look with your feathers. We've taken the pressure off you to pick complimentary colors with a variety of unique mixed packs for you to choose from!
Sell assorted colors in
5 pks
12 pks 
24 pks


Giveaway for 
to share the Love I have for my Fans.
This is for a set of
these are a spare set I have,
 so these will not be shipped to you from Picasso.
ends 4/8 11:59pm est
Open to US!
Enter on the Rafflecopter Below 
 GOOD LUCK ALL!
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Christina's $75.00 Spa Finder Gift Certificate Giveaway


Christina Serrano has teamed up with other bloggers to Celebrate all her Fans!! We have come together to bring you this Giveaway!! Enter below for your chance to win $75 Spa Finder Gift Card!! GOOD LUCK!!!!

A BIG Thank You to all the blogs for helping me celebrate!
Whole Lotta Mama
LS Thrifty Finds
The Secret Life of a SAHM
Couponin Momma From TX
A Frugal Floridian
DeDa Studio
Detroit Mom
Mom Blog Society
Parsimonious Pash
Building Carpenters
Sunshine Creations
One Mom's Moxie
Maries Centsable Savings
Couponing4you
The Cupcake In My Belly
Lazy Giraffes

Damsel in Defense Pro Alyssa McVey
Night Helper Potty Watch
Bloggity Blog
Mark Rep Tara
Wrap it with Kelli
Tracers Coupon Affair
Family, Love, and Other Stuff
Mom Goes Wild
Thrifty Momma Ramblings
Bear Haven Boutique
Couponer's Corner
Love2EncourageYou
La Hi Life Apparel
Savior Cents
Sweet Pea Saving
Free Social
Sister's Saving Cents


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Powered by Mom brings you a Label It Giveaway

Powered by Mom brings you a Label It Giveaway

Are you someone who likes to be organized or wants to get organized? Need to label any household products, kids toys or? Want to promote a product with your very own customized label? This is the giveaway for you!
What's there not to like about labels? You can use them for almost anything! You get to decide what you want to use it for and have it customized the way you want it. The picture below has just a few examples of ways you can utilize Uprinting products.

Friday, March 23, 2012

Soda Stream Review and Giveaway

Go green, save money, less sugar, less carbs and it's easy to make! The Sodastream you'll love it.

The Sodastream system is the new way to make soda inexpensively, is better for the environment, you can make your soda in 30 seconds or less and you have a variety of flavors at your fingertips! Turn your tap water in to soda and reduce your CO2 footprint wow! SodaStream is an "Active Green" product, meaning that consumers are actively reducing their CO2 footprint every time they make soda or sparkling water at home instead of buying it from the store. Now who wouldn't want a chance to win one of these? Read on and find out how to enter to win one of your very own!

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Get Famous Ebook Giveaway Sponsored by Powered by Mom

Powered by Mom brings you another awesome giveaway the Get Famous Ebook!

If you haven't read my interview and review of Lisa Cash Hanson's Get Famous E-Book go here to read the full review.

I loved Lisa’s book. I think it is a fantastic resource for new bloggers. I wish I had such a comprehensive resource available to me when I first started. I was lucky as I did get some amazing help when I first started directly from the source Lisa herself. You will see a quote from me about this on her cover page.

I'm so excited to follow up on my review of Lisa's book of wonderful blogging tips with this giveaway. Now here's your chance to win your own copy of this e-book whether new blogger, experienced or just thinking about blogging this is the book for you :)



Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Flash Giveaway! Win over $100.00 in coupons!

Flash Giveaway! Enter below to win over $100 in coupons!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Fish Foam Review and Giveaway

Powered by Mom brings you Fish Foam!
No fish foam is not the latest name for a salmon mousse or any other fish recipe. It's a fantastic window cleaner created by one of the largest professional window cleaning companies in the US Fish Window Cleaning.
I must admit when I was first contacted by Nathan from the Fish Window Cleaning company about reviewing this product I was a bit hesitant. Interesting name for product and how much better could this product be than what's already out there. I decided to give it a try because it's Spring cleaning time so why not see what it could do. My house was certainly ready for some Spring cleaning.

Monday, March 19, 2012

Dale and Thomas Popcorn Giveaway

Hi, It's Kathleen again from Kathleen's Blog Spot. I wanted to share another review and giveaway with you! I am far from a bag popcorn lover. I hate microwave popcorn all together but when it comes to Dale and Thomas Popcorn, I am in love. Dale and Thomas Popcorn is unlike any other popcorn! It is so amazing that I admit I am addicted. My favorite right now is the Peanut Butter and White Chocolate Drizzle. I am constantly changing my favorite because Dale and Thomas has so many amazing varieties!
Plus Dale and Thomas ALWAYS has something exciting for every holiday! Their gift baskets are perfect for any occasion. Right now they have a full line of Easter items to help you celebrate Easter with your family and friends near and far.
Have you checked out Dale and Thomas' Facebook page? You can find the latest promotions, newest flavors and just say hi!


What's the prize?

Easter 4 Pack Sampler (Retail $24.95)


Easter four pack sampler includes four of our most popular flavors beautifully wrapped up with a bow and a "Happy Easter" message. A delicious way to send your Easter greetings! This delightful 4 pack sampler includes the following footlong bags of gourmet popcorn: Chocolate Chunk N'Caramel, Hall of Fame Kettle Corn, Peanut Butter & White Chocolate DrizzleCorn, and White Cheddar & Black Peppercorn. 




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Great Deal from Christina Serrano!

Hey Moms and Moms to Be!! (or Dads & Grandparents)
Here is a great offer from Tiny Tillia. 4 pc crib bedding set, Reg. $120.00, now on sale for only $35!!! PLUS, FREE SHIPPING!! I have looked and compared prices and the lowest price I've seen was $99.99, all the way up to $200.00! Outragous!
This 4pc Set included the decorative quilt, 33" x 42", features lovely appliques and embroidery perfect for displaying on the wall.
Crib sheet measures 53.5" x 28.5", bumper measures 157" x 9", and crib skirt measures 28" x 52" x 15".
In addition to the great price, its ADORABLE too!! Available in Yellow and Pink, while supplies last!
Don't miss out on this incredible price, get yours TODAY!
$120.00 ONLY $35!! Just click the link below, it will take you right to it! Or you can contact me at dec11cs87@yahoo.com or on Facebook!





Guest post by Christina Serrano Ind. Avon Rep.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Thirty - One Gifts and Organizing Tote Review


I don't know how many times I have searched for the perfect bag for my hobbies. Something that isn't too big but not too small. One that I can carry everything I need for my latest project and it not be too bulky to take with me when running errands and I know that I am going to have to wait. This is usually the doctor's office. I love crocheting and knitting and almost always have yarn in tow! And if you ask my dear friend Kate from Crafty Kate Going Crazy she will testify that it is not a hobby but an obsession.  Anyone who crochets or knits knows that you have to be organized otherwise your yarn and project turns into a huge ball of mess, turning into frustration as you tear your project apart and have to start all over again. Well I found a wonderful little company that makes a bag that helps keep everything organized and in one place. Thirty - One Gifts has a full line of Adorable, Fun and Trendy bags and gifts! Their bags can be used for anything from a beach bag, diaper bag, craft bag and so much more! From their signature purses to storage solutions it will be easy for you to find something from Thirty - One Gifts for every part of your life!

My favorite Thirty - One bag is the Organizing Utility tote. I use it for everything and have decided that I need to purchase several more! One for my crocheting, one for a diaper bag and one just because I am in love with Thirty - One gifts. The Organizing Utility tote measures approx. 10.35" H x 15.5" W x 6.5"D. It is made from extra tough Nylon so you know it will last. Plus is has a stain and water proof lining PERFECT for diaper bags! With seven side pockets you are sure to find yourself organizing in no time! The Organizing Utility tote is currently available in 12 different colors and designs. 

Thirty - One gifts offers personalization for all of their products. I love this because their products make the perfect gifts and you can add a little special touch by having it personalized for the recipient. You can find the perfect baby shower, bridal shower gift or present for any occasion. Even if you are just looking for a way to spoil yourself.
Please be sure to join Stephanie Barrett on Facebook!
Are you as excited about Thirty - One gifts as I am?? Join us for and Online Party an see just what I am bragging about when it comes to Thirty - One Gifts!!

(Stephanie Barrett sent me (1) Organizing Utility Tote to write my review. I was in no way influenced my the sponsor and all opinions stated are my own truthful opinions. I only recommend products that I feel are a good fit for my readers.)

Kodak Camera Giveaway



Lets face it everyone needs a camera. Whether you are taking pictures of you kids recital or the basketball game you got court side tickets for. In the world where Smart phones have taken over, sometimes they just don't cut it. They take too long to snap the picture and you missed the surprised face when your child opened that unexpected gift they asked for 1,000 times. Well we want to make sure you never miss another photo chance again.

Kathleen's Blog Spot, along with several other amazing blogs and businesses, is giving one of our lucky readers the chance to win a Kodak Camera Prize Package!
Enter starting March 15 and ending March 22, 2012!!
One Winner is going to receive the following amazing prizes!
The Susan G. Komen Kodak  C1530 Camera
A Susan G. Komen Camera Case 
A Susan G. Komen Camera Neck Strap
4 GB Memory Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Kodak C1530 Pink 14MP Susan G. Komen Digital Camera 


  • 14 megapixel resolution - Delivers excellent picture quality






  • Kodak 32-96mm zoom lens - Features a 3x optical zoom






  • 3.0" LCD display - Enjoy easy focus selection and photo viewing






  • VGA movie file format - Record movies in resolution up to 640 x 480 on this compact Kodak camera






  • 16 scene modes - Provide creative options for taking eye-catching photos with accurate color






  • Burst mode: 3 frames per second - Get perfect action shots without sacrificing quality






  • Kodak Share button - Easy uploading to Kodak Gallery, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr, Orkut and more



  • "Raising Amazing Children (... While Having a Life of Your Own)" Guest Post by Author Deborah Drezon Carroll

    Hello from the author of "Raising Amazing Children (... While Having a Life of Your Own)" Deborah Drezon Carroll:
    Our daughter’s wedding was a glorious event for us, as you might imagine. After it was over, though, one thing stuck in my mind. People, our friends and other guests whom we didn’t know, repeatedly came up to us and said, “Your daughters are amazing. What’s your secret?”
    While that is a beautiful sentiment, and may even be true (if I do say so myself), I wondered: Are they really amazing? We have three daughters who are really just lovely people with good hearts and good souls. They weren’t exceptional students (they were good students for the most part) or outstanding athletes (they did try, though); they didn’t cure cancer in our basement, or discover the secret to solving the world hunger problem. They didn’t win scholarships or attend Ivy League colleges. They just were good kids (most of the time but certainly not without challenges along the way) who grew up to be teachers.
    And that’s when I realized: maybe they are amazing.
    If the goal of being a good parent is to do the job well enough for our kids to leave us someday and be happy people who are independent and live with integrity and decency, and if achieving that is amazing, maybe we were all amazing.
    I thought about how we achieved such greatness. What was our parenting secret?
    My husband and I had both been teachers early in our careers. We learned a great deal about how children develop. We learned strategies for facilitating growth in young people by treating them with respect, trust, faith, and high expectations. And, when we had our first child we got some very good advice.
    The advice was to find ways to integrate our child into our lives rather than turning our lives completely upside down to integrate ourselves into our child’s life. In other words, we were advised to raise our kids while living life the way we loved it before our kids were born as much as possible. We were told to find ways to keep doing the things we loved so we could share them with our kids. And so we did. Whatever we did, we invited our kids to do it with us. From cleaning the house to traveling across the country on a camping trip (Yes, we did go on a cross country trip with three kids under the age of 5!), if it was something we did before we had kids, we did it with our kids. We tried not to give up any of the things that mattered to us before we became parents, we just found ways to incorporate our children into those activities.
    As a result, our children learned life skills by experiencing life with us. They learned to love reading and writing as we do so they value education. They can do simple home repair, they all did their own laundry since they were very little, and each can negotiate a tight deal of any sort. They understand the value of work and the need to budget money as they watched us do both and learned by seeing our struggles and our successes. They learned compassion and caring for family, friends, and strangers as they lived both on a daily basis. In short, they learned how to live life by living it with us and witnessing the ins and outs of making a life work.
    The simple tasks of everyday living provide parents with opportunities to teach children something of value each day. By inviting your kids to work alongside as you do things like shopping, housecleaning, gardening, cooking, home repair, traveling and more, you both win. You’ll save time as you’ll have helping hands to get the jobs done faster, your child will learn priceless life skills, and you’ll all have more time to enjoy life together.
    By incorporating your kids into your life, you get to continue living a life that makes you happy. Happy parents raise happy children. Your kids will thank you for it… some day!
    Raising Amazing Children (…While Having a Life of Your Own). The title sums up our parenting secret.
    To learn more about Debby and her book, visit her website!

    Mom Blog Society and Mom Does Reviews 10K Fanbration!

     

    Join our HUGE 10K FanBration!

     

    LaDonna Dennis, creator and mastermind of www.momblogsociety and Pamela Maynard, creator of www.momdoesreviews.com have both reached an exciting point in our fan base. We now have 10,000 FB fans and still growing everyday. We are so excited about reaching this point and would like to thank our fans by holding a 10K fan celebration.

    FREE to join!

    The event will include over 50 top bloggers- that's you- helping to promote this enormous giveaway.

    There will be over 20 to 30 prizes and 20 to 30 winners. That's over $1000 in prizes! Yay!

    Sign up here!

    The only requirement is that all participating bloggers must have over 5,000 FB fans.

    We are taking sign ups until 3/29

    Giveaway starts 4/1 and ends 4/24.

    Tuesday, March 13, 2012

    Moby Wrap Review by Kelly Lockwood

    When Kathleen of Kathleen's Blog Spot asked me to review a baby product to keep with
    the theme of the Ultimate Baby Giveaway, I thought sure! I have 4 kids, surely there is something that I have enjoyed enough to write about. And then it came to me. My Moby Wrap! Our youngest is almost 20 months old and I had to pull it out the other week to use it.

    So, what is a Moby Wrap? Well, I had never heard of one until after my 4th baby was born. I can't tell you the number of times I could have used that with the other three and so wished I had heard of it back when our 1st was born. The Moby Wrap is a long (and I do mean L-O-N-G) strip of stretchy material that wraps around your torso to create a carrier for holding your baby. Here is a great image from Moby Wrap (used with permission) showing you how the wrap works.


    The Moby:
    • It's a "one size fits most" (the material is several yards - 5.5 meters to be exact)
    • The material is doubled over creating extra strength and support
    • It hugs the shoulders nicely when properly adjusted which adds support to your shoulders and back (this is important, if the shoulders are rolled up and not adjusted like the image, it will add strain to your back)
    • It crosses over on your back and shoulders helping distribute the weight more evenly
    • You can carry the child facing you or facing out
    • There is no stiff plastic or frame to cut into you or the baby
    • The material is soft and stretchy
    • You can secure your infant's or sleeping baby's head by position it sideways and placing part of the wrap over the head - loved doing this as it keeps the baby's airway open and yet their head isn't wobbling around (see image below)
    • The baby's legs can be out or tucked into the wrap for warmth
    I have tried cheaper carriers and they were just that, cheap. They dug into my neck and shoulders despite the repositioning and adjusting. I also felt like our babies weren't positioned close to me which caused constant strain on my back and shoulders.
    After the other carriers, I decided to try a sling. It still strained my upper back and I was so uncomfortable with how the face of our infant was covered. I kept trying to prop it open so I could see her. A couple of years later, that very sling was recalled because of suffocation issues. :(
    Along came baby #4 and I knew I needed some sort of carrier. I couldn't afford anything really expensive. My limit was about $40-$50 (thanks to the baby shower). I was at Target one day and browsing their baby section. That's when I first say the Moby Wrap. It was one of those situations where you pick it up and put it down, pick it up and put it down. I was trying to decide if I wanted to spend the rest of the baby shower money on that or figure out something cheaper. I finally decided to put it in my cart and there it stayed. lol
    I have heard wonderful things about other wraps and carriers that run around $80. That wasn't feasible for me at the time but the Moby Wrap was. I used my wrap at home, wore it to church, out shopping and even got my husband to use it. :) I found it easy to wrap at home (or out) and leave it even if I wasn't putting the baby in right away. It was also easy to get him into the wrap once it was on.
    The wrap comes with step-by-step instructions on how to wrap it and which way to wrap it for the proper positioning you're looking for (you can also find instructions online). It took me about 2-3 times to figure it out and after that, I no longer needed the instruction manual to wrap. It was easy to get the hang of it and now it only takes seconds to wrap.
    As our youngest grew and became more mobile, I used my wrap less. He was happy and content to be exploring and no longer needed me all the time. He is now almost 20 months old and weighs just over 26lbs. We were at church one day a few weeks ago and I decided to pull the Moby out because he was just so heavy. Unfortunately, I wrapped quickly and didn't position the shoulders right but even so, it still took some time for the strain on my back to start causing pain.
    I have heard things like how the Moby stretches out over time but in the almost 2 years that I've had mine, that has not been the case. If it does need some tightening, washing it has always helped. Overall, I love my Moby and like I said, I've heard wonderful things about some of the more expensive ones but the Moby Wrap is great and a bit more affordable. :)
    I would love to hear what you like or dislike about the Moby Wrap (or another wrap that you've used). Thanks for reading!
    *Disclosure: The Moby Wrap referred to in this post is one I purchased myself. I received no compensation for writing this post. All opinions expressed are my own.*

    Thank you to Kelly at Practical Savings for the amazing review and article contribution for our Mommy and Baby Event. Please visit Kelly on Facebook and Twitter!

    Mom Blog Society and friends Wholesale Costumes Twitter party!


     









    FOUR PRIZES! Four winners will choose a costume of their choice valuing $35 or less!









    Go here to find the answers to the questions that will be asked for your chance to win a costume!

    Pampers Millionth Fan Celebration

    Join Pampers in celebrating their accomplishment of 1,000,000 Fans!
    They are celebrating by giving away 1,000,000 gift to grow points! 
    100 fans will win 10,000 points. That's a lot of points!
    You can entry every day until March 22, 2012


    Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day Review and Giveaway

    Gustafer Yellowgold's Year in the Day

    An Out-of-this-World experience!
    Starring That Little Guy from the Sun, Gustafer Yellowgold. “The show is a cross between ‘Yellow Submarine’ and Dr. Seuss.”- The New York Times
    Groovy Gustafer Yellowgold came from the Sun and landed in Minnesota. His humorous adventures burst forth in hand-drawn music videos from cartoonist/songwriter/performer Morgan Taylor. Taylor developed the award-winning, multimedia Gustafer Yellowgold experience as equal parts pop rock concert and hand drawn cartoon movie.
    In the new DVD/CD package, "Gustafer Yellowgold’s Year In The Day," we find former Sun-resident Gustafer Yellowgold experiencing his own, unique take on a year’s worth of Earth holidays, both classic and unusual. Groundhog Day, Pancake Day/Fat Tuesday, St. Patrick's Day, Halloween, and many more receive the one-of-a-kind Gustafer blend of blissful pop-music, lyrical poignancy, and cartoon absurdity.
    NOT JUST FOR KIDS! Gustafer Yellowgold’s Show has been the wild-card opening act for bands like Wilco and The Polyphonic Spree.

    Review by Mom Does Reviews:

    Yes, I have to admit, cute Gustafer, the little yellow guy, won me over! Singer/songwriter Morgan Taylor has a way with words and music that appeals to anyone, ages 4 to 104! His silly songs are fun, relaxing and entertaining! I do agree with The NY Times that he is a cross between The Yellow Submarine and Dr Seuss. I have listened to the CD twice now and it just keeps getting better. My favorite song is Pancake Smackdown. Who would have thought of a pancake smackdown? The whole song is about what happens during a pancake smackdown. Let's just say, I'd rather eat my pancakes that get smacked down with a short stack!
    The DVD with the music videos (like the YouTube video above) is so much fun. You can play the video in normal mode or karaoke style. How much fun would that be! My son loves to sing and especially loves to memorize song lyrics. He loves the karaoke on the DVD. We have a toy microphone and he used it to "sing" with Gustafer. It was funny. My son loves drawing and creating so even liked the Bonus Features on the DVD: "Making of Year in the Day" and "Gustafer Guitar Lessons."
    Mom Does Reviews gives Gustafer 5 out of 5 stack of pancakes. I highly recommend this CD/DVD to anyone who loves silly, fun songs that make you want to smile and sing all day!

    The Giveaway:

    One lucky winner will receive: The award-winning series of Gustafer Yellowgold DVD/CD A Year in the Day!

    Giveaway ends on 3/25 1201am

    Giveaway is open to US only.

    Please enter on the easy rafflecopter below!

    a Rafflecopter giveaway


    Disclosure: I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Mom Blog Society. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

    Monday, March 12, 2012

    Nohi Kids Review and Giveaway


    When I first saw Nohi Kids clothes I fell in love! Cheyenne loves any opportunity to be a little diva! I love this dress! The dress is has the perfect amount of "stretch." This is important because Cheyenne does not like keeping any type of clothes on that have the "snug" fit. Plus I don't have to struggle to get her in and out of the dress. It has a 2 inch sash that ties in the back. Cheyenne is super tiny for her age so the dress will grow with her. It is perfect to throw with a pair of leggings and long sleeve shirt underneath and let her wear the dress even on cooler days. I love the style of the dress!! It will surely grow with her as she will be able to wear it as a tunic when it is no longer fitting her as a dress.

    We received the Flock pattern of the Nohi Kids Girls Dress. It has green and teal partridges all over it. Cheyenne refers to it as her bird dress. Nohi Kids Girls dresses are available in seven different patterns and bright vibrant colors. The dress is made of an organic cotton, bamboo fiber and lycra blend. All the graphics are printed with a water-based ink as well. :) My favorite part about these dresses are that they are 100% machine washable!! Nohi Girls Dresses are available in sizes 12-18 months all the way up to 7/8. This makes it super easy and the perfect picture dresses when you are having sibling pictures taken!
    Enter to win it! One winner is going to get their own Nohi Kids Body Suit in the Giraffe Pattern. This adorably cute bodysuit has all-over giraffe print! All Nohi bodysuits have overlapping shoulder hems for easy on and off and snap closures for quick diaper changes.
       (Thank you to Nohi kids for providing us with our review dress and bodysuit for the giveaway. All opinions in my review are my own opinions and were not influenced by the sponsor.)

    a Rafflecopter giveaway